Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











Please Don't Tell My ParentsFrom Goodreads: Penelope Akk wants to be a superhero. She’s got superhero parents. She’s got the ultimate mad science power, filling her life with crazy gadgets even she doesn’t understand. She has two super powered best friends. In middle school, the line between good and evil looks clear.

In real life, nothing is that clear. All it takes is one hero’s sidekick picking a fight, and Penny and her friends are labeled supervillains. In the process, Penny learns a hard lesson about villainy: She’s good at it.

Criminal masterminds, heroes in power armor, bottles of dragon blood, alien war drones, shape shifters and ghosts, no matter what the super powered world throws at her, Penny and her friends come out on top. They have to. If she can keep winning, maybe she can clear her name before her mom and dad find out.

_______________________________________________________________________

Every child has dreamed of being a superhero, every adult has probably dreamed of it too, truth be told, and this novel allows readers to feed into that fantasy as Penny and her two best-friends take on the role of supervillain–but don’t tell their parents, retired superheros set on squashing the new threat to their society: the three young unidentified super-villains who are wreaking havoc everywhere they go…

Although unintentionally evil, the three young villains are lucky more often than not; quick thinking and chance put them in situations that the city eyes as well calculated, menacing, and truly evil. This hilarious mix-up will captivate readers as the story unfolds. With a fast action sequence, humorous situations, and villains who are really good at heart, this novel is sure to bring joy to all its readers. A tad long, but a ton of fun… If you enjoyed The Expendables, Despicable Me, or MegaMind, then this is for you.

I highly recommend it to readers of all ages–embrace your childhood fantasies. Four stars.

4 stars

In exchange for an honest review, Curiosity Quills Press has been extremely gracious in providing me with a free copy of this novel.

Amazon | Kindle | Barnes and Noble



V is for VillainFrom Goodreads: Brad Baron is used to looking lame compared to his older brother, Blake. Though Brad’s basically a genius, Blake is a superhero in the elite Justice Force. And Brad doesn’t measure up at his high school, either, where powers like super-strength and flying are the norm. So when Brad makes friends who are more into political action than weight lifting, he’s happy to join a new crew-especially since it means spending more time with Layla, a girl who may or may not have a totally illegal, totally secret super-power. And with her help, Brad begins to hone a dangerous new power of his own.

But when they’re pulled into a web of nefarious criminals, high-stakes battles, and startling family secrets, Brad must choose which side he’s on. And once he does, there’s no turning back.

Perfect for fans of The Avengers, Ironman, and classic comic books, V is for Villain reveals that it’s good to be bad.

_________________________________________________________________

I recently read Don’t Tell My Parents I’m a Super Villain, and liked the MG read so much that I began looking for a YA novel of the same caliber, which I found in V is for Villain. This young adult novel is sure to grab the attention of boys of all ages, and I absolutely adore that it’s making its debut at a time when my high school students are enamored with all things Avenger. Trying to get my students to read is a task in and of itself, but with enticing reads like this one, where the focus is on the comic book world of super-powered entities, well, we have a winner.

While I will admit that some of the storyline itself was a little predictable, it is still an attention grabber and I foresee my students gobbling it up. Dealing with the topics of bullying, family values, and self-esteem, the novel also has great themes that deliver a punch, leaving readers with a good message overall, even if our hero, Brad, is a villain.

I thought Moore did a great job fleshing out his characters, and their plights and decisions were well thought out and written in a believable manner (super-powers aside). It is a great novelist to capture younger readers’ attention, and it takes an even greater writer to take a fictional realm and make it a reality for said readers. Moore has done just that, I am definitely hoping for a sequel. I can’t wait to hear what my students think of this one. Four stars.

4 starsI received this novel from the publisher, via Netgalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Releasing today:

Amazon | Kindle | Barnes and Noble



et cetera
%d bloggers like this: