Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{January 15, 2015}   {UtopYA 2015} Author Guest Post – Heather Hildenbrand

 UtopYA

______________________________________________________________________

Hello fabulous readers!  This month for my official UtopYA post, I have a treat for you!

Heather Hildenbrand, author of Imitation, book one in the Clone Chronicles Series–an amazing series that Jerry Bruckheimer and Alloy have optioned for NBC–stopped by the blog to reminisce about her experiences at UtopYA!

Imitation

So, without further ado, I give you Heather:

I am what UtopYA refers to as a veteran. I was there at ground zero: year one.

And also at year two. And three. I’m what I call a repeat offender.

UtopYAcon for me is kind of like six degrees of Kevin Bacon. Except, without any Footloose dancing. And with a different type of celebrity. Okay, wait. There was that one time with the

21364_10201449922713980_959271058_n

dancing. But we don’t talk about that. #staysinthevault

What I’m trying to say is that I’ve made so many connections as a result of attending UtopYA, beginning with year one and every year after, that when Shana

asked me to write this post, I was a little overwhelmed at all the material I had to pull from.

That first year, I was an author but barely. The ink on the title was still fresh

and I was so GREEN. I knew no one. I had a few names in my pocket of people I’d seen around on Facebook and Twitter but that was IT. I was nervous. Alone. And then I got there and I was never, ever for one second either of those things again. Not in Nashville and not after returning home.

I made connections. I made friends. And those friends have stayed with me through thick and thin, not just names on the internet or faces on profile pages, but real life FRiEnDS.

People I talk to throughout the year online, on the phone, in person.

I’m not trying to make this an ad for “attend UtopYA.” If anything, I’m saying THANKS to all the friends, professional connections, and smiles that I know I can count on every single year. UtopYA gives me all the feels and I am more than happy to give them right back. (BUT if you don’t believe that a girl who knew NO ONE could go from zero to this list, I dare you to show up this year and find out!)

So, THANK YOU, for welcoming me that first year and every year, Tiffany (& Ash) King, M Leighton, Adam & Carol Kunz, SM Boyce, Brina Courtney, Ella James, Sarah Ross, Angeline Kace, Shana Benedict, KC Neal, Chelsea Fine, Heather Self, Rachel Marks, Quinn Loftis, Megan Curd, Carlyle Labuschagne, Bethany Lopez, Tracy Banghart, Misty Provencher, Hope Collier Fields, Heather Love King, Chelsea Starling, Barbara Sheldon, Eva Pohler, Brenda Pandos, Cambria Hebert, Devri Walls, Delphina Miyares, Kat Grimes, Kat Nequette, Natalie Cleary, Amy Bartol, Shelly Crane, Alli Bowen, Donna Dull, Regina Wamba, Bella Roccaforte, Susan Burdorf, ALL the readers … holy moly I am forgetting so many. You know who you are.

I’ve never been to another book event before or since that continues to maintain an atmosphere of friendship like the one UtopYA offers. Thank you, Janet, and thank you, readers! I can’t wait to see you this June!

 

headshot1Heather Hildenbrand was born and raised in a small town in northern Virginia where she was homeschooled through high school. (She’s only slightly socially awkward as a result.) Since 2011, she’s published more than eight YA & NA novels including the bestselling Dirty Blood series. She splits her time between coastal Virginia and the island of Guam and loves having a mobile career and outrageous lifestyle of living in two places. Her most frequent hobbies are riding motorcycles and avoiding killer slugs.

Heather is also a publishing and success coach bent on equipping and educating artists who call themselves authors. She loves teaching fellow writers how to create the same freedom-based lifestyle she enjoys. For more information visit www.phoenixauthorink.com and find out how to create your own Outrageous Life.

She is represented by Rebecca Friedman. You can find out more about Heather and her books at www.heatherhildenbrand.com.

Or find her here:

Facebook | Facebook Fan Page | Twitter | Goodreads | Newsletter

_______________________________________________________

Make sure you check out Heather’s Clone Chronicles series!  Both Imitation and Deviation take place in a futuristic world–and with UtopYA’s 2015 theme as Time Travel, you sure don’t want to miss out on these awesome titles!!

ImitationImitation Synopsis:

Everyone is exactly like me. There is no one like me.

Ven wrestles with these contradicting truths every day. A clone of wealthy eighteen-year-old Raven Rogen, Ven knows everything about the girl she was created to serve: the clothes she wears, the boys she loves, the friends she loves to hate. Yet she’s never met the Authentic Raven face-to-face. Imitations like Ven only get to leave the lab when they’re needed—to replace a dead Authentic, donate an organ, or complete a specific mission. And Raven has never needed Ven . . . until now.

When there is an attack on Raven’s life, Ven is thrust into the real world, posing as Raven to draw out the people who tried to harm her. But as Ven dives deeper into Raven’s world, she begins to question everything she was ever told. She exists for Raven, but is she prepared to sacrifice herself for a girl she’s never met?

Fans of Cinder, The Selection and Sara Shepard’s Lying Game series will love Imitation, a thrilling, action-packed novel sure to keep readers guessing until the very last page.

Amazon

_______________________________________________________

Deviation NEWDeviation Synopsis:

Until a month ago, eighteen-year-old Ven had never set foot outside the windowless warehouse where she was created.

An Imitation of Raven Rogen, Ven spent her days confined in the lab, studying videos of her Authentic, all so she could step into Raven’s life at a moment’s notice.

Now, Ven lives in Raven’s penthouse apartment, kisses Raven’s boyfriend, and obeys every order from Raven’s dad, Titus Rogen—the very man who created her.

But Ven has a secret plan. She doesn’t want Raven’s life. She wants her own.

In the action-packed sequel of Imitation, Ven wages a dangerous war against Titus. First she’ll free herself, then she’ll free every last Imitation. . . .

 Amazon

___________________________________________________________________________

Other titles by Heather Hildenbrand:

Dirty Blood (book 1, the Dirty Blood series)

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Cold Blood (book 2, Dirty Blood series)

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Blood Bond (book 3, Dirty Blood series)

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Blood Rule, (book 4, Dirty Blood series)

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Whisper

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

Across the Galaxy

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

DreamKiller: The Complete Saga (a novella)

Amazon | Kobo | B&N

A Risk Worth Taking

Amazon | B&N

The Indie Author Guide: A Self-Publisher’s Toolbox

Amazon | B&N

Book your tickets for UtopYA 2015 NOW on Eventbrite!

Need info about the hotel and travel?  Check out my post: HERE

For this month, the official bloggers are bringing you amazing UtopYA panelist interviews, information, and awe-inspiring stories. Be sure and visit the other wonderful UtopYA blogs:

Week 1 – Jo Michaels Blog
Week 3 – The Paisley Reader
Week 4 – Book Junkie: Not So Anonymous

UTOPYA Official Blogger

Advertisements


evapohler says:

I’m so excited that Heather mentioned me!!! Can’t wait for next year. I have so many necks I want to hug.



Comments are closed.

et cetera
%d bloggers like this: