Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy











{October 18, 2014}   The 99 Cent Club–Feature 119–Ten Books for Ten Bucks

Every Saturday, I run a feature for the 99 Cent Club, and below are the ebook picks for this week that caught my eye and are currently ONLY 99 Cents on Amazon, with a few on Barnes and Noble as well. These are NOT permanent prices, so please double check pricing before pressing the buy button. Enjoy! (If you could help give these authors some love by spreading the word, that would be epic.)

Your Book Vacation 119

______________________________________________________________

9781501001031_p0_v1_s260x420Hologram: A Haunting by James Conroyd Martin

“This is not an ordinary haunt story. There are nice bits of original thinking along the way, especially in the relevance of the title, and the denouement left me with mixed feelings, identifying as much with the haunts as with the protagonist. I saw the terminal fillip coming, and it gratified me.”
Best-selling Fantasy and Science Fiction writer Piers Anthony

Chicagoan Margaret Rockwell falls in love with a wonderful old Greek revival home in Hammond, Indiana, and convinces hesitant husband Kurt that fate meant it for them. So begins a journey that will take them down a circuitous path fraught with the unknown-and danger.

Why do the Rockwells, expecting their first child, seem at once welcomed and repelled? What does it mean when Margaret starts to dream of the family that built the house in 1910? For her the house comes alive with its own sounds, sights, thoughts, and intentions. How could the death of a child ninety years before impact their lives? And why?

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

9780991055449_p0_v1_s260x420Mateguas Island by Linda Watkins

On a remote island off the coast of Maine, a troubled family is trying to pick up the pieces of their shattered lives and start over. But unbeknownst to them, the property they have inherited is steeped in ancient magic – magic that could seek to destroy and devour them.

An arcane locked box, a strange and foreboding trail into the woods, a seductive young woman, and tales of a malevolent Indian spirit, are just some of the perils Karen Andersen must face in order to find a way to save her family.

A spine-tingling tale filled with passion, lies, and betrayal, Ms. Watkins debut novel, will have you sleeping with the lights on!

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

9781925225013_p0_v1_s260x420Deep Devotion by M.C. Norris

Rising from the depths, a mind-bending monster unleashes a wave of terror across the American heartland. Kate Browning, a Kansas City EMT confronts her paralyzing fear of water when she traces the source of a deadly parasitic affliction to the Gulf of Mexico. Cooperating with a marine biologist, she travels to Florida in an effort to save the life of one very special patient, but the source of the epidemic happens to be the nest of a terrifying monster, one that last rose from the depths to annihilate the lost continent of Atlantis.

Leviathan, destroyer, devoted lifemate and parent, the abomination is not going to take the extermination of its brood well.

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

9781491023136_p0_v1_s260x420Small Town Evil by Ken Berglund

A father and daughter are haunted by a girl they thought they had run over in their car while returning home from a weekend vacation. When the father realizes that his daughter’s condition is getting worse, and that the girl he hit may or may not even exist, he returns to the small town where he had the accident, hoping to find answers.

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

51gcclHUPNLNeverland by Douglas Clegg

New York Times bestselling author Douglas Clegg blends dark suspense and gothic horror in Neverland, a novel of deadly secrets and innocence corrupted.

What lurks within the shack called Neverland? What kinds of dangerous — and deadly — games do the children play there?

For years, the Jackson family vacationed at their matriarch’s old Victorian house on Gull Island, a place of superstition and legend off the southern coast of the U.S. One particular summer, young Beau follows his cousin Sumter into a shack hidden among the brambles and windswept trees near bluffs overlooking the sea.

The rundown shack called Neverland is the key to an age-old mystery, a place forbidden to all. Who calls to the children from within its walls?

Find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

______________________________________________________________

51-I75GoGoLThe Hunting Tree by Ike Hamill

For thousands of years a supernatural killer has slept in the White Mountains of New Hampshire. An amateur ghost hunter has just woken him up.

Now that he stalks the night once more, he’s traveling east.

Although the monster’s actions are pure evil, he may be the only thing that can save humanity from extinction. 

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

2940046266276_p0_v1_s260x420Singling Out Sable by Isabella Rose Norton

My name is Sable Turner and I am a nobody. At least, that’s what it feels like most days. I can count on one hand the people who care about me and my well being. One is my sister Lizzie. The others are the hired help so they kind of get paid to care. My life is not as simple or as glamorous as you may think. Especially when you take into consideration that my mother and sister, Tabby are never around.  My father is constantly traveling and my arch nemesis is my own flesh and blood cousin, who is hell bent on making my life as miserable as possible!

I did not realize how many people actually cared about me until after an unfortunate “accident.” Of course, based on how the past 16 years of my life have gone it takes a while for me to be able to actually trust that these people genuinely care about me and don’t just want something from me. My life seems to have gone from a nightmare where I constantly play the role of the invisible observer (unless I am getting bullied) to a life straight out of a fairytale. Complete with great friends, family relations on the mend and the hunky sports star! Like I said my name is Sable Turner and this is my story.

Find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

______________________________________________________________

16086206The Beekeeper by Juliet Moore

A trigger-happy young detective becomes immersed in a world of bees and mad honey in order to catch a murderer.

Miami homicide detective Elizabeth Stratton knows she’s lucky to still have a job, but she’s tired of only getting the easy cases. She’ll never be able to regain the respect of her colleagues without a chance to prove she’s no longer an anxious mess who shoots at anything that moves.

Her opportunity comes during a routine check at a near-abandoned hotel. While trying to save the living, she finds the dead. In the midst of a bee infestation is the body of a young woman, her mouth filled with honey.

Elizabeth is grudgingly allowed to keep the case, which rapidly becomes compelling when the honey is found to be poisonous and the bees follow her home.

But just when she’s closing in on the killer, he targets her new friend and Elizabeth must brave the high winds of a category four hurricane to save her.

Find it on Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

______________________________________________________________

19022367Crime Czar by Tony Dunbar

A New Orleans lawyer who’d rather eat, drink, and swap stories than get caught in court, Tubby Dubonnet can’t forget the last words that escaped an old friend’s lips, and he can’t get out of the way of a political campaign that’s turning rough. Obsessed with the idea that a shadowy crime boss may be pulling the strings that have cost good people their lives, Tubby is entering into a test of courage with the most violent men in New Orleans. And if that weren’t dangerous enough, he’s just picked up the worst ally he could ever find: a beautiful prostitute gunning for revenge.

A funny-hard-boiled mystery with as many laughs as chills.

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

18040325Night Chill by Jeff Gunhus

In the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz – intended for mature audiences. Jack Tremont moves his family to the quiet mountains of Western Maryland hoping to leave behind a troubled past and restart his life. Instead, he finds himself caught up in a nightmare when his daughter Sarah is targeted by Nate Huckley, a mysterious and horrifying stranger driven by a dark, ancient power who will stop at nothing to abduct Sarah. When Sarah goes missing, suspicion falls on Jack and he must uncover the secrets of the small mountain town of Prescott City and face the evil secret hidden there. As he digs further, he learns the conspiracy reaches more deeply than he could have imagined. He must soon face the question, What is a father willing to do to save his child? The answer? Anything. Anything at all. 

Find it on Amazon.

______________________________________________________________

 

If you could help give these authors some love by spreading the word, that would be epic.

For more information about books on sale throughout the week, as well as giveaway updates, be sure to like A Book Vacation’s Facebook Page.

Advertisements


Reblogged this on Y.A. Book Reports and commented:
A nice compilation of books to add to your TBR list.



Comments are closed.

et cetera
%d bloggers like this: