Books: The Cheapest Vacation You Can Buy

{December 19, 2012}   {ARC Review} Unrequited Death by Tamara Rose Blodgett (Death #5)

13412690From Goodreads: The Graysheets remain ominously quiet during the teen’s senior year. When tragedy strikes Tiff, her confidence shatters into a million pieces and the group doesn’t know how to pick up the scattered mess of her emotional health.

As the control of the Zondorae scientists slips away, they make a final move to swing the balance in their favor, negotiating a future for the paranormals that is so final, a covert group moves to halt the momentum of their control over humanity with Jeffrey Parker as the catalyst.

In a final bid to protect everyone, Caleb discovers he was at the center from the beginning, an unwilling pawn moved on a chess board that no longer exists. Will he have a future of safety and happiness for himself and Jade? Or will the decisions made before the fateful day of inoculation remain to hinder that forever?


This book is amazing! In my humble opinion, it is actually the best of all the Death Series novels, but all six books are phenomenal, so, in all honesty, it’s hard to place one over another.  Tamara Rose Blodgett has accomplished a lot in the last two years, from her very first novel release, Death Whispers, to the creation and promotion of two other great series, Blodgett has worked diligently to provide her readers with the next installment of her books in an extremely timely fashion.  And, in doing so, it’s come to the point that she’s now completed the beloved Death Series.  It is a sad day in that it has all come to an end, especially as I’ve been drawn to these novels since the very beginning.

Over the last two years, I’ve learned a lot about Caleb Hart’s future world.  I’ve made some great friends, laughed extremely hard, felt pain, hatred, and happiness, as well as extreme love.  With the completion of this novel, I truly feel like I’m losing a small piece of my soul—my friends have grow up and will no longer grace the pages of a Blodgett novel, which is a bit heartbreaking.  The main groups’ coming of age, from ages 14-25, has been amazing to watch as Blodgett carefully wove her story together, creating extremely real, vivid, and loveable characters, and I hate, just hate, to see them go.

This novel is extremely special.  It touches on exceptionally difficult topics, yet Blodgett treats them all with genuine care.  And, though I was a bit nervous to dive in, especially as the synopsis alluded to a very dark experience for Tiffany, I don’t think it could have been written any more delicately than Blodgett has written it.  And though there are sections of the book that will make readers flush with anger and cry for the all the characters’ pain, it’s perfect.  Absolutely perfect, and I wouldn’t want the story to unfold in any other way.

Even though there are passionate sexual experiences in this novel, and yes, they’re fairly explicit (though short), and I always shy away from situations like this in my books, what I liked about Blodgett’s inclusion of them is that it’s taken five novels, extreme character development, and years of friendship for the characters to actually act on their feelings.  It’s not a one-three month relationship where the characters can’t contain their “love,” but actually a true love story in which the characters have developed and matured to the point that they are ready for more.  There are also real life consequences for their actions, which is another aspect of the novel I loved, because, unlike so many novels that I’ve read where sexual relations just seem to be there to be there, Blodgett actually works it into the mainstream plot.  And sex is acted upon through true love, showing our teen readers what a healthy relationship is like, and how all decisions have consequences.  It’s great to see a teen novel get it right, and that’s exactly what Blodgett does in this sixth book.

For those of you who have read the entire series and are awaiting this final novel, I believe you will love it just as much as I do.  It couldn’t be any more perfect.  And for those of you who haven’t read any of the series, or only part of the series, well, this is a series you will not soon forget.  It’s full of wonder and true-to-life characters, dialogue, and situations that will make you connect to the characters in ways you didn’t know you could connect to fictional characters from a book.  I highly recommend this series, and am hoping that maybe, just maybe, a spinoff series is in order. Five stars for a truly perfect ending.

5 stars

I received an ARC of this novel from the author in exchange for an honest review.  Unrequited Death releases on December 31, 2012.

The Death Series Novels:

Death Inception (#0.5)

Death Whispers (#1)

Death Speaks (#2)

Death Screams (#3)

Death Weeps (#4)

Unrequited Death (#5)

Enter to WIN the ENTIRE Death Series:

Death Series Holiday Spectacular


Wow, thanks Shana… that was a terrific review. I’m so glad that the poignancy I tried to convey- was. I had a lump in my throat with a few chapters and my Betas said they cried. Evoking that kind of emotion in the reader is the biggest compliment a writer can have. Thank you for giving the gift of your time. <3 Tamara

Comments are closed.

et cetera
%d bloggers like this: